Tuition Rates (Effective November 1st, 2021)
Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing
Segment I for teens: $ 550.00
(24 hours classroom & 6 hours driving)
In Segment 1 of driver education, you'll be introduced to the basics of driving with 24 hours of classroom instruction and another six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. You'll spend some of your classroom time watching instructional videos and discussing different driving situations with your teacher. You'll learn about vehicle safety, Michigan's driver laws, how to avoid dangerous situations, and even some basic map reading. You'll be required to pass a 100-question multiple-choice test to complete the course. Your road time will be spent on developing a progress of basic driving skills in which all 6 hours of your driving time will be spent one on one with an instructor. After you successfully complete Segment 1, you'll receive a certificate from your driving instructor that you'll need to take to a local branch office of the Secretary of State to get your Level 1 Learner's License. To apply for a Level 1 Learner's License, you must be at least 14 years and nine months old. Bring your Segment 1 certificate, proof of identity, and a parent or guardian along to sign for you. You'll also have to pass a vision test and very basic health screening. There is no fee for the Level 1 Learner's License. Learn more about the steps to take to apply for your Level 1 license.